Superintendent of Education

Metro Hu​culak - Superintendent of Education, CEO

Email: metro.huculak@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5070

Metro Huculak came to YK1 August 1, 2005 from the Alberta school system where he spent 35 years as teacher, Principal, Deputy Superintendent and Superintendent. As YK1's Superintendent of Education/CEO he is responsible for the overall functions of the District and reports to a Board of seven trustees.

Metro is very excited about working with YK1's Board of Trustees, leadership team and staff to meet the needs of all students. One of the main priorities for the Superintendent this year is to implement the Board's Strategic Plan, which identifies four main areas:

YK1 values the support of its partners - parents, guardians, teachers and community members. Working together with all stakeholders, YK1 strives to deliver positive educational experiences to its clientele, the students.


   Ed Lippert: Assistant Superintendent 

   Email: ed.lippert@yk1.nt.ca

   Phone: (867) 766-5057

   Mr. Lippert has been involved in education for more than 25 years in various roles, spending time as a classroom teacher, a department head, an assistant      principal and a principal. He became principal of École Sir John Franklin High School in 2011 and has worked for YK1 for 18 years.

"I am dedicated to this community and I believe firmly in the District’s Strategic Plan, in our strategic directions and am excited about our potential together."

Mr. Lippert’s academic background in education commenced with his Honours Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture (with distinction), followed by his Bachelor of Education degree with specialties in the sciences. He is pursuing Graduate Studies and is excited to be joining a dynamic District Office learning team and to be a champion of educational programming in the schools in 

Mr. Lippert and his wife, Kathy, have two children, Seth and Joshua, who are graduates of the YK1 system. He is an avid skier and runner, loves the outdoors and enjoys traveling with his family.


Ex​ecutive Assistant to the Superintendent: Tracy Turk
Email: tracy.turk@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5064

Communications/Administrative Assistant:  Jenny Aitken
Email: : jenny.aitken@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5050


Aboriginal Education Coordinator:  Scott Willoughby

Email: scott.willoughby@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5059

Supervisor of Instruction (French Programming):  Jean-Marie Mariez
Email:  jean-marie.mariez@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5065

Supervisor of Instruction (Student Support Services):  Courteney Lizotte
Email:  courteney.lizotte@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5074

Manager, Information Technology Services:  Martin Male
Email:  martin.male@yk1.nt.ca

Manager, Personnel Services:  Stacey Scarf
Email: stacey.scarf@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5058

 


Corporate Services

Tram Do - Director of Corporate Services

Email: tram.do@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5062

As the Director of Corporate Services, Tram is responsible for ensuring compliance with all legislative requirements of the NWT Education Act with respect to the business and financial affairs of the District.  This includes management of personnel records and benefits, administration, auxiliary services, and coordination of Plant Operations and Facilities and Maintenance.

Additionally, the Director of Corporate Services is responsible for supporting the strategic planning, policy implementation, and results evaluation of District Initiatives.  This includes both administrative and Board goals and objectives.

Primary areas of central support:

Olivia Hawker - Payroll/Accounting Officer
Email: olivia.hawker@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5061

Judith Beltran - Accounts Receivable/Accounting Officer
Email: judith.beltran@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5060