Administration

Metro Huculak: Superintendent of Education, CEO

Email: metro.huculak@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5070

Metro Huculak came to Yellowknife Education District No. 1 in 2005 from the Alberta school system where he spent 35 years as teacher, principal, deputy superintendent and superintendent. 

As YK1's Superintendent of Education/ CEO, he is responsible for the overall functions of the district and reports to a board of seven trustees.

Metro is excited to work with YK1's Board of Trustees, leadership team and staff to meet the needs of all students. 

One of the main priorities for the superintendent is to implement the board's Strategic Plan, which identifies four main areas: academic achievement, inclusive schooling, Indigenous education and healthy lifestyles.

YK1 values the support of its partners - parents, guardians, teachers and community members. 

Working together with all stakeholders, YK1 strives to deliver positive educational experiences to its clientele and students.


Ed Lippert: Assistant Superintendent 

Emailed.lippert@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5057

Ed Lippert has been involved in education for more than 25 years in various roles, spending time as a classroom teacher, department head, assistant principal and principal. 

He became principal of École Sir John Franklin High School in 2011 and has worked for YK1 for 18 years.

"I am dedicated to this community and I believe firmly in the district’s Strategic Plan, in our strategic directions and am excited about our potential together."

Ed’s academic background in education started with his Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (with distinction), followed by his Bachelor of Education degree with specialties in the sciences. 

He is pursuing Graduate Studies and is excited to be joining a dynamic team at the district office.

Ed and his wife Kathy have two children, Seth and Joshua, who are graduates of the YK1 system. He is an avid skier and runner, loves the outdoors and enjoys traveling with his family.


Tracy Turk: Ex‚Äčecutive Assistant to the Superintendent, Accounts Payable

Email: tracy.turk@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5064


Mike Gibbins: Communications Assistant

Email: mike.gibbins@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5050


Scott Willoughby: Aboriginal Education Coordinator

Email: scott.willoughby@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5059


Jean-Marie Mariez: Supervisor of Instruction (French Programming)

Email:  jean-marie.mariez@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5065


Courteney Lizotte: Supervisor of Instruction (Student Support Services)

Email: courteney.lizotte@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5074


Martin Male: Manager, Information Technology Services

Email: martin.male@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 669-7174


Stacey Scarf: Manager, Personnel Services

Email: stacey.scarf@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5058


Tram Do: Director, Corporate Services

Email: tram.do@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5062


Judith Beltran: Payroll/ Accounting Officer

Email: judith.beltran@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5061