Parent Advisory Committees

Parent Advisory Committees (PAC) are made up of volunteers from the local school community who meet monthly to discuss various issues and plan ways to support schools as they pursue individual goals, projects and initiatives. Numerous fundraising efforts and support for programs, events and activities are made possible through these school based committees. In YK1, each PAC has the support of its own Trustee, who is assigned to act as the Board’s representative. Trustees attend monthly PAC meetings and report back to the Board on local activities and progress. Superintendent Metro Huculak meets annually with PAC Chairpersons to conduct an orientation to their role.

Kaw Tay Whee School and K’àlemì Dene School choose to contract superintendency services from Yellowknife Education District No. 1. Given this organizational structure, YK1 Trustees are not assigned to act as Board representatives at these monthly meetings. Kaw Tay Whee has its own Dettah District Educational Authority made up of community members and parents. This organization has powers and responsibilities similar to those of YK1 Trustees. K’àlemì Dene School has its own Ndilo Education Committee which is formed by the Chief and Council of the Yellowknives Dene First Nation. Their mandate is to oversee the activities of the school, provide community input and ensure the committee’s compliance to approved policies, agreements and guidelines.

2018-2019 Board of Trustee PAC Representatives

École J.H. Sissons: Satish Garikaparthi

N.J. Macpherson School: Al McDonald

Range Lake North School: Jay Butler

Mildred Hall School: Rajiv Rawat

École William McDonald Middle School: Tina Drew

École Sir John Franklin High School: Terry Brookes