YK1 passes motion to close schools for rest of school year

The Board of Trustees of Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1) has approved a motion to close all six of its schools for the remainder of the 2019-2020 school year amid COVID-19 concerns. COVID-19, also known as the coronavirus, is a global pandemic that’s affecting almost 200 countries. At this point in time, YK1, the Department of Education, Culture and Employment (ECE), the Northwest Territories Teachers’ Association (NWTTA) and other regional education bodies are focusing on contingency planning, staff wellness and protecting families in our community. We will soon pivot to lesson planning and what’s expected of teachers while schools are closed. We expect to learn more later this week and will share information with parents and stakeholders at that time. Click the following bilingual bulletin to learn more.

This decision only applies to YK1's six schools: