Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The Board of Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1) is the longest serving publicly-elected school board in the Northwest Territories. Seven individuals serve as YK1 Trustees. The Board plays a key role in the continued success of the district and the 1,900 students it serves. Accountability, strategic thinking, financial responsibility and commitment are among the strengths of this dedicated group. Today's Trustees serve six unique public schools in Yellowknife and provide quality educational services to all students. During their time "in office", Trustees attend monthly board meetings and participate in regularly scheduled board-level committee meetings. Board members also make every effort to increase their awareness and understanding of community concerns and school-based issues by attending monthly Parent Advisory Committee (PAC) meetings, public gatherings and community events. YK1 Trustees lead with diligence and sound judgement, always with the best interests of the students at heart. YK1's Strategic Priorities for 2021-2024 include: wellness, learning, indigenous language and education, and community.


Terry BrookesTerry Brookes: Chairperson
Email: terry.brookes@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5050



Doreen ClearyDoreen Cleary: Vice Chairperson
Email: doreen.cleary@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5050




Tina DrewTina Drew: Trustee
Email: tina.drew@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5050



Carla KinakinCarla Kinakin: Trustee
Email: carla.kinakin@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5050




Al McDonaldAl McDonald: Trustee
Email: al.mcdonald@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5050



Trevor Sinclair: Trustee YK1%20-%20Trevor%20Sinclair.jpg

Email: trevor.sinclair@yk1.nt.ca

Phone: (867) 766-5050



David Wasylciw: TrusteeDavid Wasylciw
Email: david.wasylciw@yk1.nt.ca
Phone: (867) 766-5050





image description
Back to top